End of term report

So here we are. December has been well and truly bedded in, the tv schedules filled with repeats (not necessarily a negative) and school has finished.

No more lessons for 2015. You would think this fact would bring cheer from thousands of teachers across the country, but the chances are the majority of these teachers are actually still sleeping off the 15 week term.

I love Christmas for many different reasons, and one of those is that reaching Christmas signals survival of the harshest of periods of the school year.  

So how has this term been for me?

I started a new job, with a new role, in a new school. So it’s fair to say that there was room for a lot to go wrong, or not work out as I’d hoped.

I’m going to stick to old fashioned grades and give it an A. The welcome I received in September was incredible and this has been maintained throughout the term. I have been made to feel wanted, and indeed needed.

There has been extra trust placed in me and this in turn has given me new experiences and avenues to explore. I have been fortunate enough to find myself working alongside some amazing and inspirational people, who in turn have inspired me to become more involved within the school.

What about the students? Clearly any teaching role is centred around building relationships with those students you are responsible for, and providing them with the best possible opportunities to succeed. This will be a more long term project, and I have at least found it extremely enjoyable, despite the change in age of my students. 

So what will I be thinking about as I await the arrival of the white-bearded old man?

I’ll be feeling grateful that nine months before Christmas Eve I went for an interview that led to the most unexpected change in direction for my career, and that this breathed new life into that career. 

Someone took a chance on me on that day, and that’s all any of us need; to be given the opportunity to show what we are capable of achieving. 

After all, isn’t that what we expect of every one of our students?

Merry Christmas!!

  

Leave a comment